fbpx

Jean-Talon Market

The creation of the market came from the desire of the City of Montreal to tackle the economic decline caused by the 1930s Great Depression.

Located at the heart of Little Italy, where the lacrosse field used to be, the market was opened to the public in May 1933. It was first called the North Market. Then, in 1982, the market was renamed Jean-Talon in honour of the first intendant of the New France.

At first the market was not a trading place. The mayor’s office, who had wanted to make it a living space, built a public library (where the Première Moisson bakery is now) and a children’s playground. After a few years, this project was abandonned and the market became a real trading and gastronomic place.

Originally the market was only opened on Fridays and Saturdays, and from 1954, it was opened daily. It counts more than 400 farmers who sale fruit and vegetables, eggs and living animals. Over the years, the warehouses on the North and South sides have become Italian food shops.

Since the opening day, Quebeckers and Italians shop there. However, at the time, the clients did not choose the same products. Quebeckers bought cucumbers and tomatoes, whereas Italians were looking for aubergines and red peppers.

At the beginning of the 1980s, the market opened the indoors section, made with movable partitions. Nowadays, tourists and locals come throughout the year to get hold of local and fresh products.

Back to the list

fbpx

Marché Jean-Talon

La création du marché Jean-Talon résulte d’une volonté de la Ville de Montréal de contrer le ralentissement économique causé par la Grande Dépression au début des années 1930.

Situé au cœur de la Petite-Italie, à l’ancien emplacement du Stade Shamrock, le marché Jean-Talon est inauguré en mai 1933. Il porte d’abord le nom de marché du Nord. Puis, en 1982, le marché est rebaptisé Jean-Talon en l’honneur du premier intendant de la Nouvelle-France.

À ses débuts, le marché Jean-Talon n’est pas qu’un lieu commercial. La Ville, désirant en faire un espace de vie, y aménage une bibliothèque municipale (à l’emplacement actuel de la boulangerie Première Moisson) ainsi que des jeux pour enfants. Au bout de quelques années, cette ambition est abandonnée et le marché devient un véritable pôle commercial et gastronomique.

À l’origine, le marché est ouvert les vendredis et samedis, puis quotidiennement dès 1954. Il rassemble plus de 400 agriculteurs qui offrent des fruits et des légumes, des œufs et des animaux vivants. Au fil des ans, les hangars des maisons du côté nord et sud se transforment en commerces alimentaires italiens.

Depuis son ouverture, Québécois et Italiens fréquentent le marché Jean-Talon. Or, à l’époque, les clients ne sélectionnent pas les mêmes légumes. Les Québécois achètent des concombres et des tomates, alors que les italiens sont à la recherche d’aubergines et de poivrons rouges.  

Au début des années 1980, le marché Jean-Talon inaugure la partie intérieure du mail, faite de cloisons amovibles. Aujourd’hui, touristes et résidents de toutes les communautés, affluent tout au long de l’année au marché afin de se procurer des produits locaux et frais.

Retour à la liste